Bundesliga is the premier league of any sport in Germany or Austria. The term simply means Federal league. The terms do however most often refer to the primary soccer leagues when used outside of Germany and Austria. There are two different divisions in the Bundesliga. The first division which is what we most often refer to when we say Bundesliga and a second division. Since Since 2008 there is also a federal 3rd division but this reason can legally not be called bundesliga since it is ran by German Football Association (DFB) and not the German Football League (Deutsche Fußball-Liga or DFL). Further down in the division system the teams are divided up into regional leagues.

The soccer Bundesliga was formed in 1963 with a women version formed 1990. 18 teams play in the league at any given time and a total of 51 teams have played in the league. You can see a list of the different champions at the bottom of this page The Bundesliga has the highest audience numbers of all the worlds soccer league with an average of 45,134 fans showing up at each game for the 2011/2012 season.

Teams playing in first division bundesliga has big advantages over other teams. The larger part of the television revenue from the Bundesliga is divided among the division one team. These teams also draws bigger crowds to their games and this combined with the extra media exposure allow them to sign good sponsorship deals. The teams are able to build considerable financial muscle and can pay to recruit top players that division 2 teams can not dream of recruiting. This makes it hard to move between divisions but this does not mean that teams do not move up and down between the divisions.


Season Bundesliga-Champion Season Bundesliga-Champion Season Bundesliga-Champion Season Bundesliga-Champion
63–64 1. FC Köln 76–77 Borussia Mönchengladbach 89–90 FC Bayern Munich 02–03 FC Bayern Munich
64–65 SV Werder Bremen 77–78 1. FC Köln 90–91 1. FC Kaiserslautern 03–04 SV Werder Bremen
65–66 TSV 1860 München 78–79 FC Bayern Munich 91–92 VfB Stuttgart 04–05 FC Bayern Munich
66–67 Eintracht Braunschweig 79–80 Hamburger SV 92–93 SV Werder Bremen 05–06 FC Bayern Munich
67–68 1. FC Nuremberg 80–81 FC Bayern Munich 93–94 FC Bayern Munich 06–07 VfB Stuttgart
68–69 FC Bayern Munich 81–82 Hamburger SV 94–95 Borussia Dortmund 07–08 FC Bayern Munich
69–70 Borussia Mönchengladbach 82–83 Hamburger SV 95–96 Borussia Dortmund 08–09 VfL Wolfsburg
70–71 Borussia Mönchengladbach 83–84 VfB Stuttgart 96–97 FC Bayern Munich 09–10 FC Bayern Munich
71–72 FC Bayern Munich 84–85 FC Bayern Munich 97–98 1. FC Kaiserslautern 10–11 Borussia Dortmund
72–73 FC Bayern Munich 85–86 FC Bayern Munich 98–99 FC Bayern Munich 11–12 Borussia Dortmund
73–74 FC Bayern Munich 86–87 FC Bayern Munich 99–00 FC Bayern Munich
74–75 Borussia Mönchengladbach 87–88 SV Werder Bremen 00–01 FC Bayern Munich
75–76 Borussia Mönchengladbach 88–89 FC Bayern Munich 01–02 Borussia Dortmund